top of page
  • Writer's picturekathiemetzger

Writer's Block

I have been spending way too much time on book four in my Harley Dodge series. I'm ready to scap it yet again.

My first three books poured out of me, without obstacles, without frustration, without doubt. I wonder why I continue to do what I do?

Oh, I know!

Because I can't think of anything else.

I wake up eager to spread my characters gossip. I go to sleep giggling about their antics. Throughout the day, I log hours on the computer or with pen to paper, wondering: how can I make this better? And I'm excited to keep going.

But days into weeks gave way to months of non-progress, in my eyes. Which is the kiss of death to any writer. Once that doubt bores into my thinking I'm doomed; I can't put two words together to keep my mind afloat.

So I'm writing this post as a reminder to myself and others who've found themselves at a crossroads in their work--better known as, writer's block--to never give in, never give up.

So I may have rewritten my fourth book over several times now, but that doesn't mean I'm doomed. I just need to find the diamond in the rough and polish the hell out of that sucker until it shines!

Happy yarns, y'all!🤗

15 views0 comments
bottom of page